Tool · Voice and speech, Video

Descript

Edit audio and video by editing a written transcript, like a document. Includes one-click sound clean-up (Studio Sound), captions and a copy of your voice for fixing words. The free plan adds a watermark to video.

Go to Descript’s website

At a glance

Open or closed
Closed
Only usable through the maker's app or API
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Licence
Descript Terms of Service (The maker's own terms)
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Can I sell what I make?
Yes
Terms assign ownership of Input and Output to you; no explicit commercial clause. The software licence itself is for personal or internal business use; stock media other than Storyblocks may need its own licence. Free video exports are watermarked.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Cost
Free option: 60 media minutes a month, 100 one-time AI credits, 720p watermarked video export, limited voice cloning
Plans below.
How you use it
Desktop app
Download page: Mac (macOS 14+) and Windows 11+. A browser version and API were not confirmed.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Skill needed
No setup
Inferred; install a desktop app and sign in.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · inferred or from a secondary source; needs review
Made by
Descript, Inc. (US)
Terms list a legal-notice address in San Francisco, CA, US.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Status
Available
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page

What you can make with it

audio to textvideo to textaudio to audiovideo to videotext to audio

Edit audio or video by editing the transcript; Studio Sound clean-up; AI Speakers (voice copies) can also read new text. AI assistant Underlord, Green Screen and Eye Contact have no task ids.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial

Plans and prices

PlanPriceIncludes
FreeFree60 minutes of audio or video a month; 100 credits
720p export; voice cloning limited
Commercial use: Yes
Hobbyist (monthly)$24 a month600 minutes of audio or video a month; 400 credits a month
Per person; 1080p export. AI credits are used by features like Underlord, Studio Sound, Green Screen and Eye Contact; cost per action not stated
Commercial use: Yes
Hobbyist (annual)$16 a month, billed yearly600 minutes of audio or video a month; 400 credits a month
Per person; 1080p export. AI credits are used by features like Underlord, Studio Sound, Green Screen and Eye Contact; cost per action not stated
Commercial use: Yes
Creator (monthly)$35 a month1,800 minutes of audio or video a month; 800 credits a month
Per person; 4K export. AI credits are used by features like Underlord, Studio Sound, Green Screen and Eye Contact; cost per action not stated
Commercial use: Yes
Creator (annual)$24 a month, billed yearly1,800 minutes of audio or video a month; 800 credits a month
Per person; 4K export. AI credits are used by features like Underlord, Studio Sound, Green Screen and Eye Contact; cost per action not stated
Commercial use: Yes
Business (monthly)$65 a month2,400 minutes of audio or video a month; 1,500 credits a month
Per person; 4K export. AI credits are used by features like Underlord, Studio Sound, Green Screen and Eye Contact; cost per action not stated
Commercial use: Yes
Business (annual)$50 a month, billed yearly2,400 minutes of audio or video a month; 1,500 credits a month
Per person; 4K export. AI credits are used by features like Underlord, Studio Sound, Green Screen and Eye Contact; cost per action not stated
Commercial use: Yes
Prices shown as '$' only; USD assumed. Two prices per plan under a Monthly/Annual toggle, not labelled; lower one taken as annual ('save up to 35%'); whether annual is charged upfront isn't stated. Enterprise is custom. Watermark is on free video exports.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial

Rights and safety

Trains on your work?
Trains on your work unless you opt out
Terms: Descript may use inputs and outputs to train its models unless you have opted out; how to opt out isn't explained there. Third-party AI providers are barred from training on them.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Real faces and voices
Copies a real voice (AI Speaker from recorded consent statement), checks the person's consent
Copies a real voice (AI Speaker from submitted training audio), you only promise you have permission
Voices are made by having the speaker read a set consent statement, or in some cases by uploading training audio with your promise of consent. No identity check described beyond the statement.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial

Other options for “A voice or speech, by editing audio or a podcast I recorded”

Adobe Podcast (Enhance Speech), Async (formerly Podcastle), Auphonic, Cleanvoice AI, Gling, Listnr AI, Riverside, Vozo

About this entry

Facts last checked 12 Oct 2026 against the maker’s own pages (each fact links to its source). Entry status: draft. Plain-English summary written by Plainly.