Tool · Pictures, Video

Midjourney

Makes artistic pictures from a written description, on its website or in Discord. You can also edit images, reuse a character from a reference, and turn a still into a short clip. Paid plans only.

Go to Midjourney’s website

At a glance

Open or closed
Closed
Only usable through the maker's app or API
No downloadable models; terms forbid reselling access. Closed status inferred from the terms, not stated as such.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Licence
Midjourney Terms of Service (The maker's own terms)
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Can I sell what I make?
Yes, with conditions (from the Basic plan)
  • Only below a revenue limit
You own what you make; companies (or their staff) with over USD 1M yearly revenue must be on Pro or Mega. You keep ownership after downgrading or cancelling. Images are public by default unless Stealth (Pro/Mega).
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Cost
No free plan.
Plans below.
How you use it
In your browser, Through a chat app (e.g. Discord)
Used on midjourney.com or via the Midjourney bot in Discord. No public API or phone app found.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Skill needed
No setup
Inferred: runs in the browser with no install. Not stated by the maker.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · inferred or from a secondary source; needs review
Made by
Midjourney, Inc. (US)
Terms give a South San Francisco, CA address (for takedown notices) and California law.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Status
Available
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page

What you can make with it

text to imageimage to imageimage to video

Edit Model: edit uploaded images by instruction and use up to 4 reference images (replaces Omni/Character Reference). Video: docs.midjourney.com/docs/video animates an image into a 5 s clip.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page

Plans and prices

PlanPriceIncludes
Basic$10 a month12,000 seconds of computer time a month
200 Fast GPU minutes a month; no Relax mode; SD video only. Extra Fast time $4/hr.
Commercial use: Yes, with conditions
Basic (annual)$8 a month, billed yearly12,000 seconds of computer time a month
$96 a year paid upfront. 200 Fast GPU minutes a month; no Relax mode; SD video only.
Commercial use: Yes, with conditions
Standard$30 a month54,000 seconds of computer time a month
15 Fast GPU hours a month plus unlimited Relax-mode images; SD and HD video.
Commercial use: Yes, with conditions
Standard (annual)$24 a month, billed yearly54,000 seconds of computer time a month
$288 a year paid upfront. 15 Fast GPU hours a month plus unlimited Relax-mode images; SD and HD video.
Commercial use: Yes, with conditions
Pro$60 a month108,000 seconds of computer time a month
30 Fast GPU hours a month, unlimited Relax images and SD video, Stealth mode.
Commercial use: Yes
Pro (annual)$48 a month, billed yearly108,000 seconds of computer time a month
$576 a year paid upfront. 30 Fast GPU hours a month, unlimited Relax images and SD video, Stealth mode.
Commercial use: Yes
Mega$120 a month216,000 seconds of computer time a month
60 Fast GPU hours a month, unlimited Relax images and SD video, Stealth mode.
Commercial use: Yes
Mega (annual)$96 a month, billed yearly216,000 seconds of computer time a month
$1152 a year paid upfront. 60 Fast GPU hours a month, unlimited Relax images and SD video, Stealth mode.
Commercial use: Yes
Prices shown with $ only; USD assumed. Allowance is Fast GPU time, not images; no per-image GPU time given, so no cost estimate. No free trial mentioned. Basic/Standard commercial use only below USD 1M company revenue.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial

Rights and safety

Trains on your work?
The terms don't say clearly
Neither the terms nor privacy policy say whether prompts or images train models. Terms give Midjourney a broad perpetual licence to your content.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Real faces and voices
Copies a real face (uploaded photo in Editor / image references), you only promise you have permission
Terms: for Editor and Video you must have permission from anyone depicted. No consent check described.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Limits
max video seconds: 21
5 s clip, extendable 4 s at a time up to 4 times. Default 480p; 720p on Standard and above in Fast mode.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page

Other options for “A picture, from a description”

Adobe Express, Adobe Firefly, Adobe Photoshop, Akool, Artbreeder, Bria, Canva AI (Magic Studio), ChatGPT Images, Civitai, Clipdrop, ComfyUI, Creatify, DeeVid AI, DiffusionBee, DomoAI, Draw Things, Dreamina, Dzine, fal, Filmora, FlexClip, FLUX.1 [dev], FLUX.1 [schnell], FLUX.1 Kontext

About this entry

Facts last checked 12 Oct 2026 against the maker’s own pages (each fact links to its source). Entry status: draft. Plain-English summary written by Plainly.