Model · Pictures
Seedream 4.0
ByteDance's picture model that both makes images from a description and edits existing ones by instruction, can combine several reference pictures, and outputs up to 4K. Used through ByteDance's API and apps; not downloadable.
At a glance
- Open or closed
- ClosedOnly usable through the maker's app or APINo weights offered; offered via API and playground only. Not stated explicitly.source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
- Can I sell what I make?
- The terms don't say clearlyBytePlus terms pages render by script; not readable.source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · inferred or from a secondary source; needs review
- Cost
- No free plan.Plans below.
- How you use it
- Maker's own API, In your browserPage links a BytePlus playground, 'Try Dola' and 'Get API'.source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
- Made by
- ByteDance SeedFooter 'Bytedance Seed'; API sold by BytePlus Pte Ltd. Country not stated on pages read.source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
- Status
- AvailableBytePlus docs page for seedream-4.0 updated 28 Sep 2026; newer Seedream 5.0 versions also offered. No closure notice found.source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
What you can make with it
- A picture, from a description (main use)
- A picture, by changing a photo I have
- A picture, the same character or style across many images
text to imageimage to image
Page: text-to-image, prompt-based editing, multiple reference images, batch outputs, style transfer. Consistent character mapped from multi-reference.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Plans and prices
No paid plans listed.
Prices rendered by script; not readable. Free-tier status unknown.
source · checked 12 Oct 2026 · inferred or from a secondary source; needs review
Rights and safety
- Limits
- note: Up to 4K resolutionsource · checked 12 Oct 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Other options for “A picture, from a description”
Adobe Express, Adobe Firefly, Adobe Photoshop, Akool, Artbreeder, Bria, Canva AI (Magic Studio), ChatGPT Images, Civitai, Clipdrop, ComfyUI, Creatify, DeeVid AI, DiffusionBee, DomoAI, Draw Things, Dreamina, Dzine, fal, Filmora, FlexClip, FLUX.1 [dev], FLUX.1 [schnell], FLUX.1 Kontext
About this entry
Facts last checked 12 Oct 2026 against the maker’s own pages (each fact links to its source). Entry status: draft. Plain-English summary written by Plainly.