Plainly Guide

Plainly Guide › Pictures › Grok Imagine

ModelPicturesVideoClosed

Grok Imagine

xAI's picture and video models, used in the Grok app and through xAI's API. They make images, or clips of up to 15 seconds from a description or a photo, and can edit an existing video from a text instruction. A cheaper Lite video version costs about 2 US cents a second.

Go to Grok Imagine’s website
Free to try?No free plan
Can I sell what I make?Yes
Open or closedClosed
Skill neededNo setup

The facts, with sources

Open or closed
Closed
Only usable through the maker's app or API
API and app only. Inferred.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Licence
xAI (SpaceXSI) Terms of Service (The maker's own terms)
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Can I sell what I make?
Yes
Consumer terms s.4: you keep ownership of output; using xAI's name or brand needs permission and attribution. No explicit commercial clause; API business terms not checked.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Cost
No free plan.
Plans below.
How you use it
Maker's own API, In your browser, Phone app, Through another service
xAI API; consumer use in Grok (grok.com/imagine, apps); also on fal.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Skill needed
No setup
Our judgement: the Grok app needs no setup; the API is technical.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Made by
SpaceXSI (xAI)
xAI's consumer terms now name the company SpaceXSI; country not stated on the page read.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked on the maker's own page
Status
Available
Current API models: grok-imagine-video-1.5, -1.5-lite, grok-imagine-video, grok-imagine-image-2.0, grok-imagine-image.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked on the maker's own page

What you can make with it

text to videoimage to videovideo to videotext to image

Video 1.5 also takes up to 3 voice references for reference-to-video.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked on the maker's own page

Plans and prices

PlanPriceIncludes
API, Video 1.5$0.08 per seconds of video
API, Video 1.5 Lite$0.02 per seconds of video
API, Image 2.0$0.04 per image
API, Image$0.02 per image

Some plans are not listed here; see the source for the full list.

xAI's listed API prices; video cost also varies with resolution (tiers not listed). Grok app plans not read.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked on the maker's own page

Rough cost of 5 seconds of 720p video: about $0.40 / £0.30 (estimate, worked out by Plainly, not a price the maker publishes). $0.08 per second x 5 = $0.40; resolution tier not stated, so 720p assumed. GBP at 0.75 = 0.30.

Rough cost of one standard image: about $0.04 / £0.03 (estimate, worked out by Plainly, not a price the maker publishes). Listed $0.04 per image. GBP at 0.75 = 0.03.

Rights and safety

Trains on your work?
Trains on your work
Consumer terms s.4 grant xAI a perpetual right to use inputs to improve products. API terms not checked.
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked, but the page was unclear or partial
Limits
max video seconds: 15
source · checked 7 Nov 2026 · checked on the maker's own page

Related

Where you can run it

fal

Other options for “A video, from a description”

Adobe Express, Adobe Firefly, Adobe Premiere, Akool, Animoto, Arcads, Canva AI (Magic Studio), CapCut, Civitai, CogVideoX, ComfyUI, Creatify, DeeVid AI, DomoAI, Dreamina, Dzine, fal, Filmora, FlexClip, Fliki, FLORA, FLUX 3, Fotor, Gemini Omni 1.2 Flash

About this entry. Facts last checked 7 Nov 2026 against the maker’s own pages (each fact links to its source). Entry status: draft. Plain-English summary written by Plainly.

Spot an error? Tell us, with a link to the source. How corrections work